The Grand Patreon Experiment

Patreon.jpgIn the arena of things I’m trying to do to get my readership/constituency up and to put out more stories/ebooks, I’ve established a Patreon.

Now, if you don’t know what a Patreon is, imagine your favorite writer as Public Radio. Instead of trying to get $300,000, they’re trying to reach $300. A little different, but in the same vein. We ask for money from contributor to help defray our costs. Patreon’s a little like Public Radio’s ‘sustaining membership’, except that you can start at $1 or less per month.

Why would I consider this? Because I’m in the middle of trying to revamp my current ebooks and put out a handful more.

It costs money. While I could spend a couple of months and learn to format ebooks myself, I won’t get any writing done. I could shell out for a copy of Photoshop and take a couple of classes on design, or I could hire someone to make covers for me (which are surprisingly full of requirements and rules and stuff on how to get everything to fit on the bookseller and that.)  I don’t think I actually have any design skills, so classes would only take me so far.

And therefore, I’m hiring people to do it. And that costs a lot of money. I’m still firmly in the red on The Seer’s Choice, even though it’s been out there for almost 4 months now.

So I’ve decided to try using Patreon to help defray those costs.

_______________

To figure out the best way to pitch this, I turned to the Public Radio playbook. (There are a few online, btw.)

Here’s my favorite: (shortened a bit because of TL:DR issues)

BREAK #6: The Meaning of “Member Supported” Radio Patron Supported Writing

The theme for our spring membership drive is , “PSW, your renewable resource.”

Like all renewable resources, PSW is there for you every day, 365 days out of year, powering you through your day with great music, local and international news  writing. But like all renewable resources, it takes wise use and careful stewardship of that resource to keep it flowing.

____________________

 

Okay, I honestly shortened that a lot. But you’ve heard the pitches, and there’s nothing particularly new I can say.  I’m not great at sales. I couldn’t sell you a used car if I tried.

But I can write fiction. I won’t send you a coffee cup or a sweatshirt of a copy of Downton Abbey Season 28 (subtitled: Everyone Gets Old), but I can provide content that will go to the Patreon supporters first.

So if you’re interested in supporting writers (I’m -not- the only one with a Patreon these days!), then go over to their site and look around.

Here’s my link, J. Kathleen Cheney is creating Fiction. (It’s also at the top of the sidebar.)

Thanks!

#SFWAPro

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

