A Hold on Me, by Pat Esden

One of the things I’m trying to be better about this year is reviewing books that I read. I’ve promised myself I would do at least one per month, although -ideally- I’d like to try for two.

And therefore, January’s first review is:

A hold on me (2)

I was given an early copy of this book by the author (who is a friend of mine), and read it back in November when I was travelling. November….that gives you an idea how slow I am.

My thoughts:

First of all, I loved the atmosphere of the novel, which managed to keep me on edge throughout. It was creepy and misty and foggy, and made the interaction between the characters that much more intense.

The story follows Annie Freemont as she takes her father to their ancestral home in Maine–Moonhill. It’s there that things begin to spin out of her control. Her father’s taken away from her and she’s left to fend for herself (mostly) in a creepy side wing of the family mansion.

Over the course of the next few days, she learns more about the inhabitants of the mansion, and the secrets of her family (but I can’t say anything more about that) as well as the mystery of Chase, the family’s servant? pool boy? gate keeper? (OK, I’m kidding about the pool boy part).

What Esden does exceptionally well here is craft a relatable and believable heroine, one I’m willing to follow through a stressful adventure. I’m eager to see the next book in this series as well, so I’m hopeful that it will come out soon!

5/5 Stars

icondd

There’s also a giveaway for this book over at Goodreads. You can sign up for it here.

#SFWAPro

Leave a Reply

