The Social Stigma of Writing Romance Literature

I’ve followed the blog Teach Me Tonight for years now, ever since I accidentally found out they’d cited one of my stories on an academic blog. (Still surprised at that.) It’s a blog primarily dedicated to academic studies of Romance fiction, although there have been some spirited discussions there in the past.

Earlier this week, a summation was published of a study done about the social stigma of writing Romance literature.  This kind of study has been done about Romance Readers before, but this concerns the writer, and that inevitable moment of “Oh, you write…Ro-mance….”

Book with pages forming heart shape

Source: Getty Images

I have been dinged on the romantic elements in my work.  I’m up front about them. Most, although not all, of my published fiction involves a romance of some sort. I like that stuff, and I refuse to cut it out just because some people look down on it.

It’s what I love to write.

But it was interesting to me to see how universal the tendency to either leer or sneer at Romance Writers is.

It’s not going to change any time soon.

E-readers have really freed up the reader from being seen with the lurid covers that people have wanted to hide in the past, but for the writers, it’s still there. When I tells someone I write ‘Romantic Fantasy’, I often follow that up with an explanation that it’s not X.  Or Y.  Because, you know, X and Y are….oh, I guess I do it too.

I’ll have to work on that…

#SFWAPro

Leave a Reply

