How (Not) to Talk to a Writer # 13 (Memory)

I haven’t done one of these in a while, but for the last few days, I’ve been reading some of my older work.  (I uploaded the old word files to my kindle.)

There are scenes in there I don’t remember.  121228_PANDEMIC_ScaredReader.jpg.CROP.rectangle3-large

I found myself going….oh, yeah…I think I remember what the plot does now….

Therefore:

When you approach your favorite writer, if you ask them, “Hey, in that book you wrote twelve years ago, on page 37, why did ____________________?”

They may not have an answer for you. They’re not being coy. They’re not being evasive. They may not remember.

If you look at the publication date of their book and then shift back a couple of years, that’s probably when they wrote it. Maybe even before that.

Since that time, they’ve written a million other words, some good, some bad. Some are more beloved that others. Some get edited once, and thus have appeared fewer times before the writer’s eyes.

It was interesting to me to go back and visit the world of The King’s Daughter and The White Queen (the two oldnovels I was reading through.) I have written other things in this ‘world’ since then, an entire novel set 50 years later, and I’ve outlined several others.  This ‘world’ is my writing passion.  I love these people with a white hot fire.

Going back, it was interesting to consider what I would actually change to make these two novels fit better with what I’m currently looking at.  I was surprised how little would change.  No, I wouldn’t be willing to publish these two as is.  TWQ is actually a first draft, the ending left off. (I’m -sure- I wrote it, but it didn’t make it into this file. I just have to find it.)

But it’s reassuring that my writing wasn’t too bad a decade ago.

And it’s amazing to me how much I’ve forgotten….

#SFWAPro

2 thoughts on “How (Not) to Talk to a Writer # 13 (Memory)

  1. A couple of years after I published The City Beyond Play I went back through it for a re-read, and had already forgotten half of what was in there.

    Heck, I’ve discovered that I don’t even always remember book reviews I wrote two years ago. Not long ago I was looking at a review on a back cover and thinking “That’s pretty good…”, and only a moment later remembered that I was the one who wrote the review.

    • I love that ‘not remembering your own blurb’ problem!!!

      Yes, some stories stick in my memory better. Others slide away…

Leave a Reply

