Tag! The writing process blog tour

I was tagged by Patrice Sarath for the Writing Process blog tour. So here’s about me and my process.

What Am I Working On?

Well, I’m supposed to be working on my read-through of Dreaming Death‘s 0 draft, but I found myself working instead on the Rafael novella (I really need to come up with a name for that thing.) instead, actually contemplating carting the paper version around with me when I go to the UK. Sounds insane. And heavy. But I might just do it anyway.

The Rafael novella is concurrent with Book 3, The Shores of Spain, and I’ll be putting it out in ebook format by next summer. It’s a nice little story (I admit it–it’s mostly Romance) about Rafael Pinheiro, Duilio and Joaquim’s cousin.  I need to add a few scenes, and do a bunch of primping, but it’s pretty much written at this point.

How Does My Work Differ From Others In Its Genre?

I think partially because I tend to straddle genres. That makes my stuff a bit harder to market. It also gets treated dismissively by some SF authors who find the Romance elements off-putting–or dislike that it’s not fantasy enough for their tastes. But I read fantasy, romance, and mystery, so I end up with elements of all of them.

Why Do I Write What I Do?

Because these are the stories running around in my head and I have to get them out.

How Does My Writing Process Work?

The weird thing? I’ve been writing for publication for almost a decade now, and my process is still rather fluid. Yes, I write out outlines. Then I start writing and may–or may not–stick with the outline. Sometimes nothing from the outline makes it into the final product. Sometimes the story just tamely lets me write it as outlined. And I often don’t know which it will be…

I wish I had a better answer.

Thanks for tagging me, Patrice! I hereby tag Rebecca Roland and Rhonda Eudaly for their writing process. (If you have time, ladies.)

#SFWAPro

Leave a Reply

