Corset, Day 5 (with TMI section)

Today is Day 5.

The corset is becoming increasingly more comfortable. As of Thursday morning, I think the thing has stretched/formed to my natural waist. It no longer tries to ride up on my ribs, and instead of compressing the ribs, it feels more like it’s cupping them.

Perfect_Health_Corset

 

Source: Wikimedia Commons

The corset is going on easily now, the busk snapping into place quite nicely. It only takes a minute or so to get corsetted up. I do tighten the laces several times during the day, which becomes easier as the thing warms up (and my waist does as well.)

My only remaining problem is my tummy. Yes, I have a rounded tummy and, sometimes when I sit, the very bottom of the busk digs in. This happens most frequently in the car, but also when I squat (yes, I know that’s not ladylike) to pick something up off the floor. So I’m learning to suck in my gut first. Hmmm.

_____________
For those who haven’t worn a corset, I still have some flexibility inside the corset. So it’s not as if my spine can’t move at all. I’m just limited. Also, my shoulders and neck are completely separate, so they’re not having any issues.

As far as sitting up straight while working goes, this is fine. I’m being much better about that.
_____________
Question asked over on FB:
Are you wearing normal clothes? How do they fit over the corset?

I’m currently wearing yoga pants, a t-shirt, and a big ‘ol sweatshirt. They fit fine over the corset, and no one has commented, so I don’t suppose it’s noticeable.

_____________
And, I weighed this morning and have lost 5 pounds since the last time I weighed (2 weeks ago). I suspect that a lot of that is merely a factor of my appetite being suppressed.

________________TMI section below___________________

OK, the bathroom.

I now know why Victorian/Edwardian women were floating around the house in their dressing gowns all morning instead of getting up right away and getting dressed: they were waiting for certain bodily functions to be over with.

In my case, there’s been no change in the bodily functions themselves…and I assure you, I’ve done ALL the bodily functions this week. Bad week to start with the corset, huh? But it’s over with now.

What is different? Cleaning up afterward. Since I can’t bend much at the waist, reaching certain areas becomes more difficult. Not impossible, just more difficult.

So if I were an Edwardian lady, I would probably put off donning the corset until after….um….the coffee has worked (as we say euphemistically here.)

And if I were wealthy enough, I would just plead a headache for certain days of the month and stay home in the afore-mentioned dressing gown.

Unfortunately, working women didn’t have any choice about that sort of thing, and had to get up into the corset before dawn….so that must have been a royal pain.

4 thoughts on “Corset, Day 5 (with TMI section)

  1. A very interesting post, thank you so much. You have touched on several aspects of 19 century life as well as corsets. Here are some comments for discussion, I’m not saying I’m 100% right

    1. Victorian children were taught to have their bowel movements (I’m not prudish,so I will use the words) at a fixed time everyday. It is likely that well brought middle class ladies would continue this habit so they would not need to wait too long after breakfast. Have a look a Google books for 19 century books on child management to see the horrors of how children were taught to be “regular as clockwork”. Perhaps not for discussion here.

    2. Middle/upper class women were usually not involved in social activities in the morning, so they would probably wear looser and less stiff corsets then. Afternoon visits, afternoon tea required more fashionable corsets.

    3. I think that the higher the social class the tighter/ stiiffer the corset – there was a social status message in a corset. Working women had to work, bend and stoop, house maids had to climb stairs carrying buckets of water etc. It’s probably true that the higher the social class the more servants were available. While the Victorians were prudish in public, a Victorian lady would think it normal to have a maid help her perform the bodily functions. We probably would not be comfortable with that today?

    Mary

Leave a Reply

