Publication Process….between drafts

I have about 2 and a half months to turn my terrible first draft into a readable draft to send in. So the first thing I do with it is RE-outline the book.
1656286_10203424372233018_2070290964_n
All the columns aren’t filled in there, but they’re scene #, Chapter #, Date and Day of week, POV, weather and moon, clothing (and anything like bruises, injuries), and what happens in the scene. While it might look organized, it’s really a mess.

Also, I’ll probably go forward without the last 1/4 of the book done. It’s very easy to have the outline twist and turn and then, by the time you get that far, it’s completely off course. So I’m probably not going to spend the time now doing the last quarter….I’ll re-outline that part when I get closer.

And now I have to dive in head first, and may be very scarce around here for a while….

#SFWAPro

2 thoughts on “Publication Process….between drafts

  1. It’s always interesting to see how different writers do this. It looks pretty organized to me. I keep timelines, chapter descriptions, and character descriptions, etc., but not a scene by scene like this. Good luck with the rewrite.

Leave a Reply

