Care and Feeding of the Debut Author -33

Hmmm. Only 4 more of these.
So here’s what’s going on right now:

th

Well, kind of. Here’s what I’m actually doing.

Book 1 The Golden City
This debuts in trade paperback in 33 days. I am currently looking about for blogging opportunities, and touching bases with my publicist to see what she wants me to do. I need to update my webpage etc.

Book 2 The Seat of Magic
Right now a reader is going through my first edit os this (which I did last week.) I made a couple of edits to this last night. Due by mid-November, but I want to get it in earlier.

Book 3 The Shores of Spain (I need to change the name of this.)
Right now I’m working on turning my ugly 0 draft into a readable first draft, hopefully by the end of October so I can get it read. The completed manuscript is due to the publisher January 1.

Next Book: Dreaming Death
My agent wants a ‘proposal’ on this book (series, actually) ASAP. That means a synopsis and a couple of chapters to send out to publishers.

And did I mention that I have two conventions before the debut date? More to do!

Why am I telling you this?

Because this is all going on Right NOW. I am working on stuff for a fourth book while at the same time working on all the previous three in some way. AND THE FIRST BOOK HASN’T EVEN COME OUT YET.

I’m getting my first taste what it must be like to be a “professional” writer. There’s a lot of stuff going on, and I have to keep all of it under control. It’s weird…and a bit overwhelming.

I’m learning to cope. I make lists. I CAN do this.

It’s not quite juggling chain saws, but it feels close.

#SFWAPro

Leave a Reply

