Care and Feeding of the Debut Author -75

75 days to go.

Good:
Numbers for my Goodreads Giveaway have suddenly shot through the roof. It closes sometime around midnight, so people are jumping on it at the last minute. It’s still reassuring to see some decent numbers there.

Bad:
Someone I know online was dumped by Big Publisher X this week after his third book. Sales not ‘stellar’ enough.

This revelation was followed by many of the multi-published authors in the group chiming in with their own stories of the same thing happening to them, sometimes more than once. Now, I know this happens. Publishers dump writers all the time. But it’s still a bit scary to think that I’m looking at that fate, too. I’ve always known it was probably more likely than not. I just have to hope and pray that I beat the odds and sell that third book….and then a fourth….

Void:
The reason that my blog is called “In the Void” is that writers often spend days, weeks, or months in a void. We work mostly alone, and often don’t hear from anyone….making us feel more alone. This has been a void-filled month so far.

#SFWAPro

2 thoughts on “Care and Feeding of the Debut Author -75

  1. As the kids say these days, “all my feels.” I’ve often thought back to high school (and indeed college), and about how, as long as you’re learning/training, you get those big speeches about how you guys are the future, with limitless possibility, and achieving your dreams, and all that.

    But as soon as you pick something, DO something, no matter how well you prepare or how good you are, you become a Known Quantity. Like the world says “hit me with your best shot,” and once you do, everyone is free to size you up, shrug, and turn their attention back to the next class of up-and-comers, one of whom might REALLY be something special.

    I know that authorial careers don’t work that way – you know, it’d be pretty sad and strange if your first book was the best one of your whole career – but the business side of things sure can make it feel that way.

    Anyway, I sincerely hope you never to take your toys and go elsewhere. But even if someday you do…well, from everything I’ve seen, you have, like, the coolest, funnest toys of any kid on my block, and I don’t think you’re going to have any trouble getting other kids to line up to play with them, no matter WHOSE house you’re hanging at.

    (Totally pumped for WorldCon, by the way – hope to see you there!)

    • Thanks….it is a different world than it used to be for authors. Publishers used to want to ‘build’ an author, but now it’s much more of a financial call. Not enough money, no more contract.

      I certainly won’t stop writing. I just may have to do it in someone else’s yard. ;o)

      Yes, I’ll see you there…somewhere!

Leave a Reply

