Publication Process/ Con Schedule/ Links

The next two weeks will be hectic, so my normal blogging schedule will be off….not that it’s been particularly ON for the last few months, but…

I have a variety of things to report on, so I’ll start with

a) I finished the 0 draft of Book 3.
The 0 draft for me is that very first one that I will allow 0 people to read. At this point, there aren’t even chapter breaks. Plus there’s an entire scene missing where I wrote (@Write this scene later). And the ending is too abrupt and I don’t think I tied all the plot points together yet. Setting is minimal. Clothing? Scenery? Dates? Nearly non-existent.

So from here, I’ll print the book out by scene, look at each one to determine if it stays or goes, and then start setting in the missing parts. I’ll have about 4 months to get that done…more likely 3 if I take out time to do edits on Book 2. (Which I don’t have yet.) It’s a bit difficult to proceed with Book 3 before I know what changes will be made to Book 2, so…

b) I have my schedule for WorldCon in san Antonio:
Gunn Reception Thursday 18:00 – 20:00
Private reception for James Gunn and many of his students. (I’m a student of his.)

The Influence of History and Mythology on Aspects of SF/F Saturday 16:00 – 17:00
Moshe Feder, J. Kathleen Cheney, Stina Leicht, Robert Silverberg, John Maddox Roberts

Reading Sunday 10:30 – 11:00

History of the Book Sunday 14:00 – 15:00
From the very beginning of printing to the present day books have evolved both as physical objects and in the way we think about them and deal with them.
Ada Palmer, Regina Franchi, Lauren Schiller, J. Kathleen Cheney, Todd Samuelson

So not many panels, and I’m not moderating a single one. I was on one other, but asked to be taken off because I seriously knew NOTHING about the topic. At least with these I have a shot…

c) My agent has a great series of 3 (so far) posts on WorldBuilding, starting here

d) This is the last week for my ARC giveaways over at Goodreads and LibraryThing
30 available over atGoodReads
2 at LibraryThing.

#SFWApro

2 thoughts on “Publication Process/ Con Schedule/ Links

  1. And hopefuly your schedule will include a hunt for something sweet to eat one night. (Since it’s not Armadillocon, we may need to expand beyond ice cream.) See you at Worldcon!

Leave a Reply

