Care and Feeding of the Debut Author -82

82 days to go. Today I worked on setting up a local bookstore reading for November 16. I’ll post more details once we’ve got things firmed up. I worked on an interview for a newsletter in September, and I’m pretty sure I’ll finish the 0 draft of Book 3 this Friday.

Lately I’ve been mentally struggling with all the things that aren’t getting done. I haven’t finished recaulking and painting the baseboards in the kitchen (post tiling). I need to redo the grout in the bathroom shower. It’s getting nasty in there. I need to get the dogs to the vet for their annual visit and myself to the doctor for mine. I need to exercize more. I need to clean up this house. I need to get the back yard under contol and plant for next spring and cut back the yaupon in the front and….

::sighs::

Eat the elephant one bite at a time.

I’m trying to learn to ‘work’ better. I’m not worried about the 9-month time limit on the novel, but I need to learn to focus better during my writing time. If I can cut down the time spent staring at the screen (and skipping off to do research (or play solitaire)), perhaps I can get one more chore done per day. It’s a small goal, but it’s a goal.

_____________________
The giveaways of ARCS of The Golden City continue:
30 available over atGoodReads
2 at LibraryThing.

#SFWAPro

Leave a Reply

