Care and Feeding of the Debut Author #4

One of my RWA groups had some links passing around early this week, to a few articles that discussed trends in social media. The gist of those? Facebook is falling off in popularity with young people.

Now it’s important to point out that FB is still the big hitter out there in the social media world, but it seems to be losing the interest of many young folks, mostly because their elders are on there as well. They don’t want their grandmother in on their conversations with their college friends.

How does that affect me, as an author with a debut right around the corner (for high values of ‘right around the corner’)? I’m not sure. Apparently, two of the up-and-coming media platforms are Pinterest and Tumblr. Both are more about pictures than text.

While I do have a Pinterest account, I rarely use it. I’m at a loss for understanding how an author could use that platform to good effect. If you can point me to some good examples, I would appreciate it.

I don’t have a Tumblr account. Again, I don’t know exactly how an author would use one to their advantage. What would you guys suggest?

I do have a Twitter (@jkcheney), but I’m not on there enough to be a ‘good’ user. I’m trying to stay more current there, but there are days when I just don’t get around to Tweeting.

So perhaps I’ll have the media world figured out by the time the ‘big day’ comes. Perhaps.

________________
Article 1
Article 2
Article 3

(Links courtesy of Marsha West)

4 thoughts on “Care and Feeding of the Debut Author #4

  1. I think both Pinterest and Tumblr could be used to good effect. You do lots of research online into the worlds of your characters and for settings, and as I understand Pinterest you could “pin” links to helpful and useful sites. You found lots of cool stuff on Saratoga Springs for your Hawks Folly series that you could pin to Pinterest.

    Similarly, Tumblr could be used to post pictures of settings and character inspirations. For example, your Dragon series was in large part inspired by the picture of the little girl holding a ball of blue flame between her hands. Inspiration = Tumblr picture. Ditto the picture you used when writing about Oriana.

    I think one of the drawbacks to Tumblr, as I understand the service, is that there aren’t a lot of good search capabilities built in. According to a couple of articles I’ve read one kind of has to know where to go. Then again, you’d throw lots of links to your page from your website(s) to get people to go.

  2. I played on Tumblr last night, and I did notice that the search function really stinks.

    I do have a Pinterest page for the Titans… ;o) So some of my research is there!

  3. Thanks for mentioning the Pew Internet and American Life Study, which I found fascinating. Keep in mind that, while Tumblr is up and coming, it’s up and coming for teens and the YA audience. I could see a Tumblr blog for a character in your novel, for example, and things like that have been done before with Twitter accounts and other blog posts. Same with Pinterest: what your characters want to pin, rather than you, as a way of extending the novel and your brand.

    Best of luck with it all!

    • You’re welcome (I like for people to see what I’m talking about, so they don’t have to take my word for it!).

      Yes, that’s another reason I’m not jumping on these particular media sources…I suspect that their audience isn’t truly my reader audience. Since I think I’ll have more female readers, Pinterest seems more promising…

Leave a Reply

