Care and Feeding of the Debut Author #3

One of the things that I’ve been working on recently is prepping for promotion. No, I don’t have any books to give away yet, but I will, and I need to know what to do with them when I get them.

Because, as I was reminded recently by the brilliant Mark Henry, the most important aspect of promotion is Word of Mouth.

Now, there are good ways to do word of mouth, and bad ways. I used to have a blog friend who was constantly blogging about this thing to vote on and that thing to vote on and please go vote on this and please go vote on that. I eventually blocked the person because I got so very tired of it. It was often two or three times a day. That’s too much. It’s a -bad- way to drum up support.

The good ways? Well, I’m working on determining what those are.

So here are some of things I’m looking at.
1) GoodReads Giveaway: It looks fairly easy to run one of these, so I’ll probably try that as soon as I get ARCS.
2) LibraryThing Giveaway: Now I’m even less familiar with LT than I am with GR, but some people swear that this is a great resource.
3) Blog and FB Giveaways: I mean seriously….you guys put up with me all the time, so shouldn’t you get to take a stab at it even if you don’t do LT or GR?

Those are some of my preliminary thoughts. (Remember, I have 201 days still to go. Yes. I actually know how many days.)

What do -you- think works to help writers develop Word of Mouth exposure?

6 thoughts on “Care and Feeding of the Debut Author #3

  1. What about a blog tour? I see lots of authors promoting their books and doing give aways by guest posting on other blogs.

    • I’m still kinda on the fence about that. I (personally) find blog tours….um….well, I generally skip over them. I will dutifully discuss the issue with my agent. But I’m leery of doing one if it’s not really with people I know.

      (I should specify, there are a lot of ‘for-hire’ blog tours. They arrange the whole thing for you. I’m not a big fan of these, because they’re rather scatter-shot in their aim. So in this instance, I’m not talking about visiting on friends’ blogs….which is a different thing altogether.)

  2. Wow – didn’t know about the ‘for-hire’ tours. I was thinking more of visiting blogs by people you know and who you think would have readers who might also be interested in your stuff.

Leave a Reply

