Care and Feeding of the Debut Author -54

54 days to go. At this moment, Book 1 is far from my mind. One of the things that I’ve found interesting about a novel’s debut is how far you are away from that novel by the time it shows up on the shelves. I did the galleys a couple of months ago (my very last shot at clean-up), and since then it’s been totally out of my hands.

pages2
Here’s Book 2, taking up all my brain. I’m in the first round of edits, fully knowing there will be at least 3 more rounds down the road (second edit, copy-editing, and galleys).

So you see numbers written down the side of the page, some crossed off. Those correspond to comments from my editor and agent. I cross them off when I think I’ve handled each adequately. I also place tabs in the side of the text (purple for agent, yellow for editor) and when I think I’ve covered the question, I pull the tab. In the first half of the text, you can see that there are only three tabs left. Those are comments that require more thought/effort.

So as of yesterday, I had completed 213/395 pages. I’m making good progress, and will finish this edit pass in plenty of time.

After I handle all the comments, I will then try to address some ‘big picture’ questions my editor had.

And after that, I’ll print out another copy (because I’m seriously paper bound) and reread it, looking for typos and continuity.

So this is what the debut author is doing…not thinking about her debut book at all. I just don’t have time.

#SFWAPro

4 thoughts on “Care and Feeding of the Debut Author -54

  1. I am more a re-writer, than a writer, but these posts make the whole publication process sound mind numbing. I can’t image re-reading an entire novel as many times as you’ve had to (even one I wrote). It’s amazing that books ever get published.

  2. I forgot where I learned the rule of printing the manuscript out and editing it on hardcopy. It’s expensive but it’s the only way to catch the errors a writer never sees on the electronic copy. And it’s so beautiful to see it on paper. I miss paper manuscripts and my old electric typewriter. Thanks for showing us the realities of publication. Many people wish to be a published writer but don’t realize it means a great deal more work than writing casually.

Leave a Reply

