Care and Feeding of the Debut Author #9

152 days to go.

I’m mentally exhausted (by the whole tiling thing.)

I have interacted with both my editor and agent in the last few days. Agent and I discussed which novels to push next. We agreed that Dreaming Death (and its sequels) is the right direction to go. So once I’m done with The Shores of Spain, that’s what I’ll be working on.

Shironne Anjir rides again! (Well, not actually ‘rides’, but something along those lines.)

My editor asked me what I thought might work for the cover of Book 2 (The Seat of Magic). Now there are a lot of nasty things in that book that might make for covers, but I think it would be better to stick with the cover look of The Golden City where Oriana is staring out over the sea…
9780451417749_medium_The_Golden_City

…so I think I’m going to suggest that they have Duilio on this one, looking out over the sea in the opposite direction (since they’re a pair of novels, this would only make sense.)

I was thinking of something like this:
4592511492_d046c1e524
(This is an 1818 painting, can’t recall the painter’s name at the moment.)

Now, the backdrop would have to be more like the first book’s, Duilio has dark hair-not blond, I would rather see his face, and that frock coat isn’t quite period correct (too full in the back). But that’s what I’m thinking would work for me…as a pair of book covers.

However, I have no clue what actually works for book marketing. They may look at my suggestion and laugh. Perhaps covers with a fully-dressed male don’t sell. I simply don’t know.

I’m just flattered to be asked at all ;o)

4 thoughts on “Care and Feeding of the Debut Author #9

  1. Personally, I don’t think there’s enough covers with fully-dressed men out there. Suits, especially. I love a man in a suit. So, if you have the equivalent on your cover, heck yeah, I’d loooove that cover, whether or not it’s part of a pair.

Leave a Reply

