The Next Big Thing, my turn ;o)

This particular meme started going around the internet when I was in Portugal, so I couldn’t participate then, but I was recently tagged by the wonderful Elizabeth Wein, who talks about her upcoming novel, Rose Under Fire here. If you haven’t read her fantastic Young Adult WWII Historical, Code Name Verity, I suggest you do so at once. Just make sure you have some kleenex.

But now my task is to try to pique your curiosity about my work and that of some of my friends, so without further ado…

My own ‘Next Big Thing’ question time!

• 1) What is the working title of your next book?

The Seat of Magic.

• 2) Where did the idea come from for the book?

The darkest recesses of my mind. Seriously. I might need a psychiatrist.

• 3) What genre does your book fall under?

My contract calls it “Romantic Fantasy”, so I’m sticking with that.

• 4) What actors would you choose to play the part of your characters in a movie rendition?

This is the hardest question, mostly because I don’t follow actors. I don’t watch enough TV, so some of my actors are really the wrong age. I’ve put the characters’ ages next to them, and you just have to stretch your imagination. Plus you have to imagine them as Portuguese, because I -really- don’t follow Portuguese actors.

Oriana (26): Jodhi May, but a bit taller.

Duílio (29): Perhaps Hugh Dancy (who starred with Jodhi May in “Daniel Deronda”, which tells you I’m limited to Masterpiece Theater)

Joaquim (28): I have no idea. He’s Hugh Dancy but bulkier with straight hair and a darker complexion. If you know who that actor is, send me a link to a photo ;o)

Marina (22) Emmy Rossum, except shorter, like 5’4″

Miguel Gaspar (34) Cuba Gooding Jr.

Gabriel Anjos (35) Matthew Fox, but a bit shorter and leaner (He has consumption, so…)

• 5) What is the one sentence synopsis of your book?

Very Bad Things are happening to young women in the Golden City, and Duílio and Joaquim must find out what the killers are truly after, before they can carry out their deadly plan.

• 6) Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

The Seat of Magic is already under contract with the same publisher, Penguin Random House (Ace), who will publish The Golden City in November 2013, and is scheduled to come out Spring of 2014. My awesome agent, Lucienne Diver, handled the deal.

• 7) How long did it take you to write the first draft of the manuscript?

About 8 months, I think, but I immediately went back and started a clean-up draft, which took another month or so. Let’s call it 9 months altogether to get that first draft (the one I sent to my future agent) done.

• 8) What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

Ugh. This is always a hard question for me to answer. I would love it if people would compare it to Samantha Henderson’s Heaven’s Bones, although I don’t think that I can pull off the level of ‘creepy’ that she does. I do hope I get to read the sequel to that book (which is what I want readers to say about mine, as well.)

• 9) Who or what inspired you to write this book?

Perhaps it’s my own fan-fiction. I had written a novelette, “Of Ambergris, Blood, and Brandy” which was published in Abyss & Apex last year. I wanted my characters, Duílio and Oriana, to have a second chance, so I threw them together again, starting a couple of weeks after everything that had happened in the novelette.

The amusing part of this is that it means I wrote the second book in the series first. It wasn’t until after I was seeking representation for The Seat of Magic that I started writing a novel-length version of the above-mentioned novelette. My future agent liked the second book, but told me that it was too clearly a follow-up, and she wasn’t certain it could stand alone. I promptly wrote back that I was already working on the novelization of the first story, and I hoped to send that to her as soon as I got it done. Which I did. ;o)

• 10) What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

Lots of Dead Bodies. Selkies, sereia, and otterfolk. Old books that had Bad Things written in them. If you’re not interested in those, then I can’t help you.

And that’s all there is!

__________________

But now I’d like to introduce you to some friends of mine, a rather motley crew, since I seem to be a SFWA/RWA hybrid creature ;o)

Laura Bradley Rede is a fellow WOTF winner. We therefore attended a week -long workshop together in California, which is where we actually got to meet in person. She’s the author of the YA novel, Darkride, which has werewolves and vampires, but is FAR better than the book which shall not be named. I’m eagerly awaiting the sequel, which she promises will be out in spring. You can find her at her Amazon Author Page, at her web-site, or via the Darkride web-site.

Mona Karel is a fellow member of the FF&P-RWA (Futuristic, Fantasy, and Paranormal branch of the RWA). She’s the author of My Killer, My Love and Teach Me to Forget, and also has the distinction of being a fellow dog lover (that’s not related to the books). You can find her work on her Amazon Author Page or via her web-site.

I have been running into Pat Hauldren at conventions and conferences for a few years now, and we’re members of the same RWA group, North Texas RWA. She’s a very busy writer, writing speculative fiction short stories and novels and nonfiction freelance (for Examiner.com, the SyFy Channel, Beacon-News.com and the North Texas eNews) In addition she’s a vital member of several DFW area writer’s groups, is also a freelance editor/copyeditor and is a fiction copyeditor at Cyberwizard Productions. You can find more about her upcoming fiction at her web-site, as well as finding links to her editorial services.

Rhonda Eudaly is a hardworking writer who manages to squeeze in freelance writing, convention organizing, and maintaining a blog of which I’m, quite frankly, jealous. Seriously, look at this web-site. But we’re talking about her writing here…not her pen fetish. She’s one of the few authors I know who manages to make humor–no matter how dark the subject matter–funny to me. I love hearing her readings! You can find links to a lot of her fiction on the sidebar of her website.

William Ledbetter , like Laura and I, is a fellow winner of the WOTF contest, although his turn was just this year. He’s published many pieces of short fiction to various SF markets, is an editor at Heroic Fantasy Quarterly, and runs the annual Jim Baen Memorial Writing Contest (for Baen Books and the National Space Society). I expect to hear about his first novel sale any day now. You can find out more about Bill via his web-site.

One thought on “The Next Big Thing, my turn ;o)

  1. Pingback: [Writing Post} A Short, Sweet…But Still Random Post | Rhonda Eudaly

Leave a Reply

